"Nothing is harder / on the soul / than the smell of dreams / while they are evaporating."––Mahmoud Darwish. Stop the Deportations!

––City Lights storefront, Fall 2017

 

City Lights is a landmark independent bookstore and publisher that specializes in world literature, the arts, and progressive politics.

Founded in 1953 by poet Lawrence Ferlinghetti and Peter D. Martin, City Lights is one of the truly great independent bookstores in the United States, a place where booklovers from across the country and around the world come to browse, read, and just soak in the ambiance of alternative culture's only "Literary Landmark."... Read more>>

 

 

 

 

New at City Lights Bookstore


 

Product image
Compass
Mathias Enard
Every decade or so, a book comes along that demonstrates the true gift that is 'Literature'. Compass is just such a book, one that through one man's single sleepless night plumbs no less than mortality, love, music, and the historical intermingling of two great cultures seemingly at odds. -- Recommended by Christopher P.

Product image
W. E. B. Du Bois's Data Portraits
Visualizing Black America
Whitney Battle-Baptiste, Britt Rusert
Recommended by Paul The colorful charts, graphs, and maps presented at the 1900 Paris Exposition by famed sociologist and black rights activist W. E. B. Du Bois offered a view into the lives of black Americans, conveying a literal and figurative representation of "the color line."

Product image
Killing Commendatore
Haruki Murakami
The epic new novel from the internationally acclaimed and best-selling author of 1Q84, a tour de force of love and loneliness, war and art, as well as a loving homage to The Great Gatsby. Killing Commendatore is a stunning work of imagination from one of our greatest writers.

Product image
The Weight of the Earth
The Tape Journals of David Wojnarowicz
David Wojnarowicz, Lisa Darms, David O'Neill
Audio journals that document Wojnarowicz's turbulent attempts to understand his anxieties and passions, and tracking his thoughts as they develop in real time.

Product image
Dear America
Notes of an Undocumented Citizen
Jose Antonio Vargas
"After 25 years of living illegally in a country that does not consider me one of its own, this book is the closest thing I have to freedom." —Jose Antonio Vargas, from Dear America

Product image
Amateur
A True Story About What Makes a Man
Thomas Page McBee
"Thomas Page McBee is this generation's essential and desperately needed voice on masculinity because he understands the crucial connection between power and trauma that constructs (and deconstructs) gender. This book is written with love and vulnerability about what literally makes a man fight."––Recommended by Chris C., City Lights Publishers

Product image
The Third Hotel
A Novel
Laura van den Berg
Laura Van Den Berg's haunting exploration of the dislocating loneliness of grief is focused and intensified by the twin lenses of horror and feminist philosophy. The result manages the delicate feat of being both unsettling and deeply moving. -- Recommended by Christopher, City Lights Booksellers

Product image
We That Are Young
A Novel
Preti Taneja
A stunning debut novel, a modern-day King Lear set in contemporary India: the tale of a battle for power within a turbulent family, for status within a nation in a constant state of transformation, and for the love and respect of a father disappearing into dementia. Recommended by Paul, City Lights Booksellers

Product image
Essential Essays
Culture, Politics, & the Art of Poetry
Adrienne Rich
Adrienne Rich was an award-winning poet, influential essayist, radical feminist, and major intellectual voice of her generation. Essential Essays gathers twenty-five of her most renowned essays into one volume, demonstrating the lasting brilliance of her voice, her prophetic vision, and her revolutionary views on social justice.

Product image
Notes from the Fog
Stories
Ben Marcus
Marcus is a master of the short story, and these addictive, at times hilarious, but undeniably unsettling tales are like a dozen dead canaries in our big, stinking American coalmine. --Recommended by Ivy, City Lights Booksellers

Product image
The Incendiaries
A Novel
R.O. Kwon
A feast for the senses: feast on the sentences.––Recommended by Vanessa, City Lights Booksellers

Product image
Lament from Epirus
An Odyssey into Europe's Oldest Surviving Folk Music
In the tradition of Patrick Leigh Fermor and Geoff Dyer, a Grammy-winning producer discovers a powerful and ancient folk music tradition.

Product image
Alienation and Freedom
Frantz Fanon
A fascinating array of uncollected (and several previously lost) essays by the great Pan-African philosopher and post-colonial theorist. This tome gives us a deeper and more personal portrait of the man himself, and his essays on racism, anti-imperialism and the psychology of fascism remain deeply relevant today.—Recommended by Michael

Product image
Fruit of the Drunken Tree
A Novel
Ingrid Rojas Conteras
Every character in this novel is lovingly portrayed with complexity and nuance; each grows and shifts under the strain of unpredictable violence in Escobar's Colombia. --Recommended by Ivy, City Lights Booksellers

Product image
Nepantla
An Anthology Dedicated to Queer Poets of Color
Christopher Soto
Here are reasons to sing, to shiver, to cry, to snap, to bark, to love, to feel-- in resonance. Words to keep near your pillow, and to read on the train, and to keep on your tongue. EVERY POEM HERE IS GOOD. --Recommended by Jared, City Lights Booksellers

Product image
There There
Fierce, angry, funny, heartbreaking—Tommy Orange's first novel is a wondrous and shattering portrait of an America few of us have ever seen, and it introduces a brilliant new author at the start of a major career. --Recommended by Paul, City Lights Booksellers

Product image
The New Dark Age
Technology and the End of the Future
James Bridle
Bridle's demonstrations of how the physical footprint of virtual space developed along the physical lines of traditionally imperialist, elitist power and continue to reinforce ever-deepening chasms of inequality are fascinating and alarming."––Recommended by Christopher P., City Lights Booksellers

   

New and Forthcoming from City Lights Publishers

Product image
Impeaching the President
Past, Present, and Future
Alan Hirsch
NOW AVAILABLE: An historical look at the practice of impeachment, how it impacted the terms of Presidents Johnson, Nixon, and Clinton, and how it may affect Donald Trump.

"Lucid, balanced, and deeply informed. Anyone in search of a reasoned guide to the unreason of our current situation should read it."--Elizabeth Kolbert


Product image
Poso Wells
Gabriela Alemán
Celebrated Ecuadorian author Gabriela Alemán's first work to appear in English: a noir, feminist eco-thriller in which venally corrupt politicians and greedy land speculators finally get their just comeuppance!

Product image
Retablos
Stories from a Life Lived Along the Border
Octavio Solis
Octavio Solis's memoir about growing up at the U.S./Mexico border. Called one of the Best Books of Fall 2018 by Buzzfeed, The Millions, and the CBC!

Product image
Violence
Humans in Dark Times
Brad Evans, Natasha Lennard
Interviews with leading thinkers on the crisis of violence in contemporary politics, history, media, and culture.

Product image
American Nightmare
Facing the Challenge of Fascism
Henry A. Giroux
A far-ranging critique of the rise of authoritarianism and white nationalism in the US and the consequences for democracy.

Product image
Rad American Women A-Z
Rebels, Trailblazers, and Visionaries Who Shaped Our History . . . and Our Future!
Kate Schatz, Miriam Klein Stahl
New York Times Bestseller! A book for children—and their parents, teachers, and cool grown-up friends—documenting America's famous and unsung heroines.

Product image
Torn from the World
A Guerrilla's Escape from a Secret Prison in Mexico
John Gibler
The real-life story of a political insurgent who was disappeared and tortured by the Mexican Army and miraculously escaped to tell the tale.

Product image
Loaded
A Disarming History of the Second Amendment
Roxanne Dunbar-Ortiz
"If . . . anyone at all really wants to 'get to the root causes of gun violence in America,' they will need to start by coming to terms with even a fraction of what Loaded proposes."—Los Angeles Review of Books

Product image
The Mathematics of the Breath and the Way
On Writers and Writing
Charles Bukowski, David Stephen Calonne
A collection of columns, reviews, introductions, interviews, and previously uncollected stories revealing the method behind the madness and critical acumen of Charles Bukowski.

Product image
A Good Day for Seppuku
Short Stories
Kate Braverman
Haunting new stories about girls on the brink of adulthood, women on the verge of breakdowns, and families undone by past deceptions.

Product image
The Stone Building and Other Places
Aslı Erdoğan
Vivid stories from one of Turkey's most admired contemporary female authors, whose political activism has made her the target of state persecution.

Product image
I Couldn't Even Imagine That They Would Kill Us
An Oral History of the Attacks Against the Students of Ayotzinapa
John Gibler
Chosen as a Best Book of 2017 by Publishers Weekly!

Harrowing personal narratives describing how Mexican authorities disappeared, killed, and injured scores of students and others in a still-unsolved crime.


Product image
venture of the infinite man
Pablo Neruda
Neruda's long-overlooked third book of poetry, critical in his poetic evolution, now translated into English for the very first time!

Product image
Storming the Wall
Climate Change, Migration, and Homeland Security
Todd Miller
Fast-paced frontline reportage chronicling how climate change is accelerating migration, border build-up, and militarization in the U.S. and beyond.

Product image
Cruel Futures
City Lights Spotlight Series No. 17
Carmen Giménez Smith
A Latina feminist State of the Union address at the intersection of pop culture and interiority.

Product image
Heaven Is All Goodbyes
Pocket Poets Series No. 61
Tongo Eisen-Martin
"This is resistance as sound."—Claudia Rankine

Product image
Have Black Lives Ever Mattered?
Mumia Abu-Jamal
"A must-read for anyone interested in social justice and inequalities, social movements, the criminal justice system, and African American history. An excellent companion to Michelle Alexander's The New Jim Crow and Ava DuVernay's documentary '13th'."—Library Journal, Starred Review